Unrequited

Were you to venture to my eyes

I know what you’d not see

The shadows laid and fire splayed

Of love for you from me

I will not feel the warmth that spreads

Above your beating heart

The rhythmic thump from every pump

It wasn’t mine to start

But you don’t know that mine is yours

A stake in me you hold

Ever growing, overflowing,

The wealth that goes untold

So close you are, yet unaware

My body faintly cries

A smiling face maintains my grace

Even though it lies

I showed you what I was inside

You prob’ly thought a joke

You shed the lies, you hypnotized

When you poured truth down my throat

‘Twill never be for you and me

Because you’re thinking straight

My thinking’s gay it’s not your way

The cruelest hand of fate

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Unrequited

Sound off!

