Spring Fever

Spring is in the air! If I haven’t mentioned it before, spring is my favorite season. I mentioned to my dad today that spring just makes me happier, especially coming out of ugly old winter that nobody likes (except a few crazy people). So my aim with this post is just to talk about the beautiful invention that is spring and why I love it so much.

My inspiration for this post came while watching The Walking Dead yesterday, though it was hinted to me earlier than that in the weather. Thank God it’s time to start wearing shorts and t-shirts again, because I hate wearing sweatpants the same color as my sweatshirt, and being in that really awkward zone of it’s too cold to go anywhere without a sweatshirt, but it’s too hot to actually wear one. Now it’s regularly 60-80 degrees which is perfection. But yesterday, at 7:00, gearing up for The Walking Dead, I sat on the couch and looked out the window. It was sort of twilight. For the past few months 7:00 meant pitch black, but now it has a little bit of light left, and it’s blue outside. Y’know what I’m saying? It’s not new, but it was the first time this year that I’ve noticed that. It was light, the temperature was cool without it being cold, and it smelled like spring. I think it had rained a little, or maybe people were watering their lawns, but it smelled moist in the air, or as science would call it, petrichor. That smell, if you haven’t smelled it, but everybody has, is divine. It reminded me to a few years ago when my room was being painted, but what should have been a few days lasted for several months. I alternated sleeping between the guest bed and on the couch. I would frequently stay up until about 1:00, then go downstairs and watch 80s-90s sitcoms until about 4:30 or 5:00. I watched Family Matters mostly, though there must’ve been others. Maybe That 70s Show, The Nanny, My Wife and Kids, George Lopez, or stuff like that. I would frequently text people and I remember having some deep conversations with people. Late night/early morning is just a magnet for deep conversation. Don’t ask me why, but it is. When the sitcoms were done, I would change the station to CMT and listen to country music as I went to sleep. It was a great time, and this “era” was during the spring and summer, so all of that just made me super excited for spring, because I was regaining that feeling of ecstasy that I always feel with spring and summer.

All while waiting for The Walking Dead. I think another part of why I love spring is of course the weather. I hate the cold. I think it’s easier to cool off than it is to warm up, and I’d rather be in short clothes than all bundled up. The less clothes the better. Haha, just to an extent, but still. Let’s see them pearly whites! And by that I mean of course your arms and legs and torsos, not your teeth. The warmth just feels like a big hug from the universe. Even if I’m hot and sticky with sweat, which is uncomfortable, it beats the cold shivers and sweat from bundled clothes. Sweating is a natural body function! Why are we super embarrassed by it? Cause it smells I think, but I think there must be a way to sweat and smell decent. Even if not, can’t we all stink together? It works in Mexico! Oh, that sounds racist. When we went to Mexico for a mission trip last year, we sweat and stunk together and it was beautiful. I don’t think it’s as big a deal as everyone makes it seem like. That all said, I will of course be courteous and still wear deodorant and not seek to be stinky. I love being clean, but there is a small difference between dirty and smelly. Not always, but I can bear people being sweaty from being in the sun, because odds are I’ll be just as sweaty as you.

Anyway, warm is good. Don’t argue with me, it just is. Side note: did you know we don’t have “hot” receptors? We only have warm and cold receptors. The sensation of hot comes from the stimulation of both warm and cold receptors, which is my theory for why walking on hot pavement or beach sand feels so hot it’s cold. Interesting tidbit. Back to the subject at hand though. Spring is also the time of endings and beginnings. The earth is beginning to revive. The grass turns back to green, the trees regrow their leaves, birds are hatching, the bunnies scamper across the street, and flowers are budding. The earth is coming back to life. On the other hand, school is ending! It marks the end of the school year which is every kid’s favorite day of school. Only it’s even bigger this time, because it’s also my last day of secondary education. This spring is my “coming of age” in a way. I’m turning 18, high school is ending, I’m graduating, and then towards the end of the summer I’m moving away to a new state and starting college, living with just me and a couple other guys who I’ve never met before! Hooray! Seriously, I’m mega excited for all of that. Can you tell? Maybe it’s senioritis kicking in, but this is really starting to feel like the home stretch. Two more months is it. It’s coming out of the long dark tunnel, finally crossing the mountain range, the end. I have that feeling that I did it. I made it through high school. I had so many challenges, but I overcame them all, and I’m a better person because of it all. I made friends, I lost friends. I got smarter. I’m on track to finding my place in this world, and I’m just ecstatic. I cannot wait. This is going to be the best spring ever to date. It’s such a breath of fresh air to have finished this part of my life. I’m not completely done, but that finish line is in sight and I’m sure I’m going to make it. What a feeling.

I can’t go a post without mentioning my girl Buffy either. I’m watching it with my mom and I’m almost done with the whole series Angel, and I’m just seeing myself in Buffy’s place, as she’s finishing high school and starting college (we just started season 4). Those shows strike so close to me that they’re a part of me. I love them so dearly, and my mood is so susceptible to what happens in them. Just a few hours ago I was crying because of something happening in Angel. It might be weird of me to say that I enjoy being sad, but look at it this way. I’m feeling a powerful mix of emotions, and the reason I was crying because of a loss of someone I loved dearly. So I was also feeling intense love. This is all coming from a “silly” source like a TV show where the people aren’t real, but it doesn’t matter to me! Feeling emotion isn’t a bad thing at all. It’s humanizing, and that’s an astounding feeling to have. Feeling like a whole person is magical, and that’s one thing that those shows bring to me.

Okay, that’s all my Buffy and Angel talk. I’m just in love with this time of the year. I feel so humanized and energized. I have a bad case of spring fever, amplified by something has so little to do with spring. But it’s beautiful and I feel magnificent.

Sound off!

